Wherever He leads I'll go

Confused in Kansas…

I spent 8 more hours on the road today.  It was basically uneventful but there were two instances that caused me to pause and wonder and one instance that just sent me running!

The first instance was the one that sent me running.  It was a routine (or so I thought) stop at a gas station.  I had swiped my card, pressed “yes” for a receipt and then I saw them…yellow jackets!  They were flying around the trash can by the pump.  What in the world were yellow jackets doing at a gas station trash can???  Many of you know about my recent experience with my Uncle’s 37 stings and my one little one (that hurt BAD) and I did NOT want another one!  So…I pressed cancel and drove to another pump.

The first instance that made me say “hmmmm” was when I requested that my GPS lead me to the nearest Wal-Mart on my route.  When I arrived this is what I found…

Definitely NOT Wal-Mart!

Then, after I found the REAL Wal-Mart, I got back on the interstate where I happened to see this…

Now, I don’t know about you but to me that bares a striking resemblance to one of those nuclear blast mushroom clouds.  I didn’t stop but I put the window down and took this while I was driving….just in case it was the real deal.

I’m in a hotel in Nebraska tonight.  There’s been no news about a nuclear blast so I suppose all is well. 🙂  I am arriving at Pine Ridge tomorrow and I’ll probably hit the ground running so this may be it for a few days.  I’ll post the ministry details as soon as I have a chance.

God bless you all and thank you for your prayers!

Comments on: "Confused in Kansas…" (2)

  1. Wow thought it was a tornado.

    Like

  2. Jerry W Doyle said:

    Every good action and every perfect gift is from God. (James 1:17)

    Sorry I am late commenting on your blog Terry. I have been in travel status on business and then afterwards, took time to hike in the New Mexico Carson National Forest and Pecos Wilderness.

    I truly enjoy your pictures taken along the way to Pine Ridge. Please continue to share with us events related to your ministry while there.

    I am so proud of your efforts to spread the gospel through Mission Adventures to Native Americans. I just returned from several reservation areas in northern New Mexico where I enjoyed the camaraderie with the truly first Americans who inhabited this great land given to us by the Almighty. I support your efforts both spiritually and financially and pray others will do the same as God sends His angels to care for you in your journeys.

    Last week I hiked to Horseshoe Lake in the Sangre de Cristo Mountains east of the Picuris Pueblo and south of the Taos Pueblo. I found this isolated wilderness trail while viewing the Backpacker’s magazine and it mentioned that few backpackers and hikers know about the trail to the lake. The magazine article also stated that anyone hiking to Horseshoe Lake would need orienteering skills. Guess what? My challenge awaited me as I wanted that isolation and I wanted that opportunity to use my orienteering skills with the compass, topographical map, and as a backup, my GPS. Making the treks solo allows me to soak in fully the splendor of nature and in so doing, to restore my body, my mind, and strive to cling for togetherness with nature and God by being outdoors.

    Anyway, I probably did something I should not have done hiking solo in the wilderness. I had limited days to make the trek, but I was under the weather physically. I pushed myself faster than usual to start the hike even though I was not acclimatized fully to the starting elevation level of 10,300 feet after having arrived from sea level. Altitude sickness soon set in with a dull headache, my body becoming lethargic and no appetite at a period when I should have been hungry.

    I’m in the middle of the wilderness climbing this mountain up to Horseshoe Lake feeling bad physically and out of the bushes and amongst the trees emerges this older Native American riding horseback with a string of horses in tow and a young Indian on horseback pulling up the rear. The old Indian surely saw me struggling physically. He sat on his horse staring at me, and me back at him. Then he smiled and asked if I wanted a lift. I did not say anything for a long period it seemed, just my staring at the deep grooves of lines and at the ruddy complexion of this old Indian’s face sitting above me on his horse. I told him, “no,” that I was fine, even though I did not feel fine. “Maybe you should head back down the mountain,” and then he rode off disappearing as quickly as he materialized out of thin air.

    I believe God does what it takes to get our attention. Sometimes we demand that God go further in getting our attention, and we suffer the consequences for doing so.

    There was this competitive spirit inside me that kept saying, “keep climbing, keep climbing and get to Horseshoe Lake,” while hiking solo in the wilderness.

    At 11,800 feet, I did turn around and hiked down the mountain. When I got to the trail head late that afternoon I was exhausted and started shivering, got in my vehicle, turned the heater on full blast and drove down the mountain on Forest Road 161 to the main highway back to civilization.

    What caught my attention as I drove was not remembering seeing any other vehicles at the trailhead parking area. That was the only trailhead parking in the geographic area. There should have been a truck with a large empty horse trailer parked at that trailhead, but there was not one. It was wilderness, and the old Indian and young Indian boy had no supplies on their horses or on the string of horses in tow.

    As you go forth to Pine Ridge Terry T, know that our prayers are with you, that God’s help is near and always available, but it is given only if we seek it. On each hike I pray to God as I trek to help me make it.

    “Faith means being sure of the things we hope for and knowing that something is real even if we do not see it.” (Hebrews 11:1)

    I was praying that day to make prudent decisions on the trail. Maybe God sent an angel to me in the form of an old Indian to get my attention.

    God Bless,
    Jerry D

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

